Mahaparinirvan Express Train Tour

from Contact Us

Mahaparinirvana Express train is a special tourist train that takes the passengers on a sacred Buddhist tour.

  • Reviews 0 Reviews
  • Vacation Style Holiday Type
    Family, Guided Tours
  • Activity Level Moderate
  • Group Size Small Group
All about the Mahaparinirvan Express Train Tour.

Duration : 07 Night – 08 Days
Destinations : Delhi – Gaya – Rajgir – Sarnath – Kushinagar – Lumbini – Sravasti – Agra – Delhi

The Mahaparinirvan Express is a special tourist train that takes passengers on a spiritual tour through Bihar/Uttar Pradesh in India , where Buddhism originated more than 2,500 years ago.

The train gets its name from the Mahaparinirvana Sutra, which contains the Buddha’s final explanation of his teachings. Its sacred journey includes visits to the most important Buddhist pilgrimage sites of Lumbini (where the Buddha was born), Bodhgaya (where he became enlightened), Varanasi (where he first preached), and Kushinagar (where he passed away and achieved nirvana).

Highlights of the Tour:

  • Sightseeing of Bodhgaya including Mahabodhi Temple and Niranjana River.
  • Sightseeing Bimbisara Jail, Venuvan and Gridhakut Hill.
  • Visit the Nalanda University and Nalanda Museum .
  • Visit to hamekh Stupa, Sarnath Museum, Ashokan Pillar and Mulgandha Kuti Vihar.
  • Visit Lumbini including Maya Devi Temple, Ashokan Pillar and Pushkarni Lake.
  • Visit the Jetvana Vihara, Pakki Kuti & Sehat Mahet and Thai Temple.

Mahaparinirvan Express Schedule 2018 – 2019

Mahaparinirvan Express Train Tour
Month Depart Date Ex Bangalore (on Monday Afternoon)
Oct 2018 13, 27
Nov 2018 10,24
Dec 2018 8,22
Jan 2019 5,19
Feb 2019 2,16
March 2019 2,23
The tour package Mapping at a glance

  1. Day 1 Delhi - Gaya
    • Welcome at Delhi Safdarjung Railway Station
    • Departure for Gaya
    • On-Board dinner
    • Overnight stay on-board
  2. Day 2 Gaya – Bodhgaya
    • Early morning tea on-board.
    • Arrive Gaya. Proceed to Bodhgaya.
    • Breakfast at Hotel
    • Visit Mahabodhi Temple and Niranjana River.
    • Lunch at Hotel.
    • Visit Thai Temple, Japanese Temple and Buddha Statue.
    • Dinner and Overnight stay at the Hotel.
  3. Day 3 Rajgir – Nalanda
    • Breakfast at Hotel
    • Visit Bimbisara Jail and Gridhkut hill
    • Lunch at Hotel.
    • Visit ruins of Nalanda University and Nalanda Museum
    • Dep. Varanasi by train.
    • Dinner and Overnight stay on-board
  4. Day 4 Varanasi – Sarnath
    • Early morning tea on-board.
    • Arrive Varanasi. Breakfast
    • Visit Sarnath, Dhamekh Stupa and Ashokan Pillar.
    • Lunch at Hotel.
    • Visit to Ganges’s Ghat, Boat ride and Aarti
    • Dep. for Gorakhpur , Dinner and Overnight stay on-board
  5. Day 5 Gorakhpur – Kushinagar
    • Early morning tea on-board
    • Arrive Gorakhpur. Proceed by coach to Hotel at Gorakhpur / Kushinagar
    • Check-in and Breakfast at Hotel
    • Visit Mahaparinirvan Temple, Rambhar stupa and Matakutir Temple.
    • Lunch and Dinner and Overnight at Hotel.
  6. Day 6 Kushinagar – Lumbini
    • Early morning tea and breakfast at Hotel.
    • Proceed to Lumbini (Nepal) by bus.
    • Lunch at Hotel.
    • Visit Mayadevi temple and Ashokan Pillar.
    • Departure for Gorkahpur Railway Station.
    • Depart to Gonda by train, Dinner and Overnight stay on-board.
  7. Day 7 Gonda - Sravasti
    • Early morning tea on – board.
    • Arrive Gonda. Proceed by coach to Sravasti.
    • Check-in and Breakfast at Hotel.
    • Visit Jetvana Vihara and Pakki Kuti.
    • Lunch at Hotel.
    • Return to Gonda Railway Station
    • Depart to Agra, Dinner and Overnight stay on-board.
  8. Day 8 Agra – Delhi
    • On board morning tea.
    • Arrive Agra. Breakfast.
    • Visit World famous Taj Mahal.
    • Departure for New Delhi.
    • On-board lunch and Evening Tea.
    • Arrival at Delhi Safdarung Railway Station.
Overall Rating